Unpacking the Educational Backpack

“We as educators need to reconsider our roles in students’ lives, to think of ourselves as connectors first and content experts second.” –Will Richardson

This quote explains that as a teacher you do not show up and teach the curriculum. There is much more to becoming a teacher. You become invested in your students lives and begin to care about more than their educational well being. The students teach you as many things as you teach them in the classroom. Being a teacher is about building relationships with students in order to have mutual respect and a successful school year. In order to teach your students content you need to be able to connect with them. Relationships are the foundation of their education. If you are able to have that relationship understanding the curriculum and content follows afterwards. The students are able to trust what you are teaching and trusting that they can confide in you for help with more than just their homework. This quote relates to my understanding of school and curriculum because when I was in the classroom I felt I was able to help the students learn more once I had established a relationship with them and they felt they could ask me questions about their work. The relationship I built with them meant more to me than the content I was teaching. Their success in more than just school was my priority.

Leave a Reply

