The Curious World of Soaps

Well, the end of the semester sure sneaks up on you. I had some serious struggles trying to find my niche with a learning project. The mid-semester evaluation woke me up and I found a great idea. I decided that each week I will be making a body scrub or a soap. I have also thought about making some candles. I have been working away trying to catch up! I found lots of fun recipes on Pinterest and will link a couple down below that I’ve used. The soap has been easier than I imagined and I am having a lot of fun with it. I plan on using this abundance of bath products as Christmas gifts for friends and family.

Pumpkin Spice Srcub

Coffee Scrub

Variety of Scrubs

Lemon Poppy Soap

The lemon poppy soap is the basic recipe I have been following for making a variety of different scents. It is a lot easier than I thought it would be.

This is the first soap I have made, I got the old from Michael’s and it has been working very well. I also bought the soap basics kit from Michaels just like the one Pinterest recipe suggested. Here are some pictures from my first experience. I just added some lemon essential oil to this one to keep itsimple!

img_4958

All the things ready to go!

img_4961

The soap base after I microwaved it for about two minutes.

img_4963

The essential oil I choose to use.

img_4970

In the moulds and ready to refrigerate for about 4 hours.

img_4981

The finished product!

I decided to wrap mine up and get them ready for Christmas gifts. Hope you enjoy!

 

 

One thought on “The Curious World of Soaps

  1. Pingback: Overall Learning Project | Mackenzie Partridge

Leave a Reply

