Media in Society

Recently supermodel/tv personality, Kendall Jenner deleted her Instagram and the internet is raging over it. A Google search showed 12.7 million hits on this topic. Here is a link to just one website talking about it. In an interview with Ellen Degeneres she said, “I just wanted to detox,” Jenner told DeGeneres. “I just wanted a little bit of a break. I would wake up in the morning and look at it first thing, I would go to bed and it would be the last thing I looked at. I felt a little too dependent on it so I wanted to take a minute.” I thought this was really interesting that such a high profile person on social media decided it was too much. I have often considered taking a break from social media. Sometimes I stop and observe how many people in my class are on their phones and 9/10 everyone has their face in their phone. I have some friends who can’t function in social situations without having their phone to fall back on. It acts as a mechanism so that you don’t have to talk to people. I think back to the old days when people would go to concerts and actually enjoy the music. Now a days, you can’t go to a concert without people on Snapchat live streaming the whole thing. To me it isn’t living in the moment and I think that is what life is all about. Phones and social media have a time and a place in our lives. To capture moments you think are necessary and to keep in touch with friends. Not a complete resource and social crutch. I will link a video below that changed how I felt about phones, someone worded it in a way that stood out and over 18 million people have viewed this, I think it is worth while.

3 thoughts on “Media in Society

  1. Reblogged this on Mrs. Alenna Jamieson and commented:
    I thought this writer made a good point about how many people use cell phones as a “social crutch”. If a situation gets uncomfortable, check your phone. If you are bored, check your phone. If you feel insecure, post something on Instagram and see how many “likes” you can get.
    Going into my internship semester this winter (yay!), I’m challenged to set boundaries in my classroom regarding cell phone usage. Thankfully, the school I’m placed in has a strict policy regarding cell phones – they are not allowed in the classroom unless they are being used for educational purposes. I think I’m going to strictly define what those “educational purposes” are. As a science educator my hope is to engage students, help them live in the present and explore the world around them. It’s hard to be “present” when you are torn between the digital world and the real world.
    I think it would be really interesting to see what happens in a classroom (ie. a social situation) where nobody has access to their cell phones.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Contributing to Others | Mackenzie Partridge

Leave a Reply

